A really bright light just went out in the world…

They say that life is short.

I don’t believe that.  When I was a child summers never ended.  Secondary school was a lifetime in itself!  I can tell you that child birth first time around lasted at least a year (2 days) and now that my children are here – they’ve definitely been here forever.

So you see, life is long…way long.  Too long to spend doing things you don’t want to do, being unhappy with your life or spending time with people who suck the happiness out of your life.

Last night my Uncle passed away.  He was a force of nature – larger than life.  He tortured me as a child – teased me mercilessly, played ‘dutch ovens’ with me on Christmas Eve, asked my teenage boyfriend what their intentions were!  But I loved it when he was around, he always brought a lightness to the room, a sense of playfulness and fun.  He was a legendary figure at my wedding, all my friends new my ‘Uncle Paul from Cardiff’.  He was also fiercely protective – he ‘knew people’ if I ever needed my ex sorting 😉

So even though I believe that life is long, I am painfully aware how quickly it can be taken from you, or how someone else can be taken from you.  Life may be long but don’t let it fool you into thinking you have all the time in the world.

So today I am sad.  Selfishly sad for myself and for the people Paul has left behind but I am determined to take something from it.  Every now and then I will take a little look at my life and make damn sure that those people I love know it.  I will make damn sure that I am spending my time with those people that mean the most, that lift me up and encourage me and I will make damn sure that I do the same for them.  And in honour of my Uncle I will do it with a smile and a sense of playful mischievousness because life is too long not to enjoy it and have fun.

Nos Da Cariad – Cysgu’n Dawel.

 

 

Leave a Reply

